Seattle Domestic Violence Attorney
Experienced Defense Against Domestic Violence Charges in King County
If you have been charged with domestic violence, you need counsel willing to fight for your constitutional rights. Hale Law Enterprises provides a dedicated attorney you can trust to fight aggressively on your behalf. Attorney Matthew T. Hale has successfully handled thousands of cases, including high-profile cases. His record demonstrates his ability to represent his clients effectively and is a testament to his success!
Have you been charged with domestic violence in Washington State? Call Hale Law Enterprises today at (206) 207-4776 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our domestic violence lawyer in Seattle!
Navigating the Ramifications of Domestic Violence Convictions
The ramifications of domestic violence are tied to the specific acts and whether they are considered felonies or misdemeanors. There are a variety of different “classes” of both felonies and misdemeanors, and you will need to talk with your Seattle domestic violence lawyer during your free consultation to discuss precisely which category your case falls under.
Some domestic violence acts that can be classified as a misdemeanor are:
- intimidation with a weapon
- reckless endangerment
- violation of protective order (gross misdemeanor)
Most domestic violence acts that can be classified as a felony are ones involving a deadly weapon or sexual assault.
Protective (Restraining) Order
Did you know that courts have a right to issue a protective warrant without you even being present at the hearing? These are called ex parte temporary protective orders and can prohibit the defendant from coming within a certain distance of a location. If you have an ex parte temporary, pre-trial, or any protective order on your record or in the future, call your highly-knowledgeable Seattle domestic violence attorney at Hale Law Enterprises, who can help you fight for your rights.
How to Obtain a Restraining Order in Washington State
Obtaining a restraining order in Washington State is relatively simple. To start the process, you will need to file an Application for an Anti-Harassment or Domestic Violence Protection Order with your local court. The application must include detailed information about the abuse and violence you've experienced and any other evidence you have of the harassment. After submitting your application, a judge will review it and decide whether to grant a restraining order. If your request for protection is approved, the court will issue an order to legally restrict the abuser from engaging in certain activities near you.
What are the Penalties for Domestic Violence in Washington State?
Different fines are associated with a conviction depending on the severity of your case. Misdemeanor acts can cost you up to $1,000 in fines, while gross misdemeanors can cost up to $5,000. Class C Felony acts (such as third-degree assault of a child) can cost up to $10,000, class B can cost up to $20,000, and class C can cost up to $50,000. In Washington, domestic violence convicts must pay a special fee of $100. There may be additional court fees as well.
Again, this type of sentencing depends on how your case is categorized and the specific circumstances of your case. For a misdemeanor, you can be sentenced to up to 90 days of imprisonment, and up to 364 days for a gross misdemeanor. For a felony, you could be imprisoned for 5-10 years or even for life, depending on the type of felony.
Can Domestic Violence Charges Be Dropped?
Domestic violence charges can be dropped in Washington State, but the decision to drop the charges is ultimately up to the prosecutor handling the case. Here are some things to keep in mind:
- The alleged victim does not have the power to drop charges: In Washington State, it is the prosecutor's decision whether or not to pursue domestic violence charges. Even if the alleged victim wants to drop the charges, the prosecutor can still decide to move forward with the case.
- The prosecutor may consider the victim's wishes: While the prosecutor is not required to drop charges at the alleged victim's request, they may consider the victim's wishes when deciding whether to pursue the case.
- The prosecutor may consider other factors: The prosecutor will also consider other factors when deciding whether or not to drop domestic violence charges, such as the severity of the alleged incident, the defendant's criminal history, and the strength of the evidence against the defendant.
- The defendant may be able to request a dismissal: If the prosecutor decides to move forward with the case, the defendant may be able to request a dismissal if there are legal grounds for doing so, such as insufficient evidence or a violation of the defendant's rights.
Overall, whether or not domestic violence charges can be dropped in Washington State depends on the specific circumstances of the case and the discretion of the prosecutor handling the case.
Contact Our Seattle domestic violence lawyer today
Domestic violence is a serious and sometimes deadly problem that affects people from all walks of life. If you are in an abusive relationship or have been accused of domestic violence, it is essential to seek legal help. Our Seattle domestic violence attorney can provide you with the guidance and protection you need to ensure your safety and well-being. With the right legal advice, it may be possible to protect yourself, your family, and your property from domestic violence.
Contact Hale Law Enterprises today to schedule a FREE consultation with our domestic violence attorney in Seattle!